Granver
ProductsScience

Granver

Science-backed supplements for cellular energy, respiratory resilience, muscle support, and women's wellness.

Shop

  • All Products
  • Subscriptions
  • My Account

Science

  • Research
  • Ingredient Science
  • Health Guides
  • Editorial Standards

Support

  • About Us
  • Contact Us
  • Track an Order
  • Shipping & Returns
  • FAQ

Legal

  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Service
  • Subscription Terms
  • Disclaimer
  • Cookie Policy
  • Accessibility
© 2026 Granver. All rights reserved.
All articles
Sunlit woodland path bordered by wooden railings and tall trees.
Health GuidesNAD+NMNHNMN

Single-Ingredient NAD+ Precursors vs Proprietary Blends: Reading the Amounts

By Granver Science Editorial Team·October 17, 2026·7 min read

Quick Guide

  1. Three label structures
  2. Identify the precursor before comparing amounts
  3. Reading NAD+ Supreme's ingredient panel
  4. Why blend totals cannot support study-dose claims
  5. Single ingredient does not mean automatically superior
  6. Ask for the documents that answer the gap
  7. Research endpoints need precise language
  8. A practical comparison worksheet
  9. Stability belongs in the amount discussion
  10. FAQs
  11. Your next step

A single-ingredient label can disclose one precursor amount. A proprietary blend total cannot reveal the amount of NMNH or another ingredient inside it.

A proprietary blend total tells you the combined weight of the listed ingredients, not the amount of each one. This is the main difference between a single-ingredient NAD+ precursor product and a multi-ingredient blend when trying to match a label with research.

For a hypothetical single-ingredient capsule stating “nicotinamide riboside, 300 mg,” the individual amount is visible. For a hypothetical 300 mg proprietary blend containing a precursor plus three other ingredients, the precursor could account for some portion of the total, but the label does not reveal how much. Dividing 300 mg by four would invent equal shares that the manufacturer never stated.

NAD+ Supreme uses proprietary blends. Its current label lists a 220 mg Proprietary Rejuvenation Complex containing proprietary NMNH, L-ergothioneine, Goldgin ginseng, and PowerGrape. The individual NMNH amount is not disclosed.

Three label structures

Label structureAmount you can verifyAmount you cannot verify
One ingredient with an individual lineThat ingredient's labeled amount per servingActual laboratory result unless a certificate supports it
Several ingredients, each with an individual lineEach listed amount and the total by additionUndeclared constituents or degradation
Proprietary blend with one totalCombined blend weight and ingredient identitiesEach ingredient's amount or an equal-share estimate

The FDA's Supplement Facts labeling guide explains how proprietary blends are declared and how the ingredients within them are listed. The blend weight still does not show each ingredient's amount.

Identify the precursor before comparing amounts

Nicotinamide riboside, or NR; nicotinamide mononucleotide, or NMN; and reduced nicotinamide mononucleotide, often abbreviated NMNH, are distinct materials. They should not be collapsed into a generic “NAD booster” dose.

The pathway relationship does not make milligrams interchangeable. Molecular weight, chemical form, stability, metabolism, bioavailability, and the human evidence base differ. A 300 mg NR study cannot establish what an undisclosed amount of NMNH does, and an NMN paper cannot prove an outcome for NMNH.

Human NR and NMN studies should be compared by their exact material, protocol, and endpoint. The NMNH versus NMN guide explains why the reduced form needs its own evidence rather than borrowed conclusions.

Reading NAD+ Supreme's ingredient panel

The current serving is two capsules, with 30 servings per container. It lists:

  • Proprietary Rejuvenation Complex, 220 mg: proprietary NMNH, L-ergothioneine, Goldgin ginseng, and PowerGrape.
  • Proprietary Restoration Complex, 180 mg: bonito elastin, N-acetylneuraminic acid, and spermidine HCl.

The ingredient order inside a proprietary blend is generally descending by weight, subject to labeling rules, but it does not reveal the numerical difference between ingredients. NMNH shares the 220 mg total with three other ingredients. Its individual amount is not stated, so the panel does not establish a match to a study using a measured NMNH dose.

The 180 mg Restoration Complex contains no stated NAD+ precursor. Adding the two complexes to get 400 mg describes their combined blend weight, not an NMNH amount. The label also does not list NR or NMN.

Review the current NAD+ Supreme product page before using these facts, since formulas and panels can change.

Why blend totals cannot support study-dose claims

Imagine a paper studied 250 mg of a defined precursor. A product displays a 300 mg blend containing that precursor and three other ingredients. The 300 mg total does not establish that the product supplies the studied 250 mg; the precursor’s individual amount is not disclosed. It also cannot be described as supplying 75 mg by dividing the total by four.

The same rule applies when a blend is larger than the study dose. “The blend weighs more” does not show that its relevant ingredient amount is greater. A 1,000 mg blend could contain less of the target ingredient than a 100 mg single-ingredient product.

Study matching requires:

  1. The same chemical identity and form.
  2. An individual amount per serving and per day.
  3. Comparable stability and manufacturing specifications.
  4. A similar population and duration.
  5. The same outcome rather than a general healthy-aging theme.

If the amount is undisclosed, record the match as indeterminate. Granver's claims-review framework provides a structured way to document that gap.

Single ingredient does not mean automatically superior

Transparency is an advantage for research matching, but it does not by itself establish quality, stability, absorption, safety, or efficacy. A single-ingredient product still needs identity testing, an appropriate dosage form, storage controls, lot information, and evidence for its exact material.

A blend can be designed around several purposes, and hiding individual amounts does not prove that it is ineffective. It simply limits the claims that can be verified from the label. The right conclusion is narrower: the reader cannot independently determine the individual NMNH amount.

Ask for the documents that answer the gap

A useful manufacturer request can be concise:

“Please provide the current finished-product specification for the labeled serving, including the individual amount of the named NAD+ precursor, its chemical identity, assay method, stability through shelf life, and a lot-specific certificate of analysis if available.”

A raw-material brochure is not the same as a finished-product result. The brochure may describe the supplier ingredient, while the finished product determines the actual serving and storage conditions.

The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements offers general guidance on evaluating dietary supplements and label information through its Dietary Supplements fact sheets. That resource should not be read as an endorsement of a particular NAD+ precursor or blend.

If a supplement may have caused a serious reaction, the FDA explains how consumers and health professionals can report a dietary supplement problem. Preserve the label, lot number, serving record, and relevant medical information.

Research endpoints need precise language

Some precursor trials measure blood NAD-related metabolites. Others measure muscle metabolism, insulin sensitivity, fatigue scores, physical performance, or safety labs. Raising a blood biomarker does not automatically prove slower aging, longer life, or improvement in every tissue.

The ingredient panel does not establish that NAD+ Supreme reproduces a single-ingredient study. The healthy-aging supplement guide helps separate biomarker evidence from clinical outcomes and marketing language.

Consumers taking prescription medicines, receiving cancer treatment, or managing a chronic condition should review the complete formula with a clinician. Multi-ingredient blends add interaction questions beyond the precursor itself.

A practical comparison worksheet

For each product, record the precursor name, chemical form, individual amount, serving size, other ingredients, lot documentation, study material, study amount, duration, population, and endpoint. Use “unknown” rather than a guess.

This worksheet may show that a single-ingredient label is easier to compare with a paper. It can also show that neither option has a close match. That is a useful result because it prevents a product choice based on false precision.

Stability belongs in the amount discussion

The labeled amount generally concerns what is formulated under the product's specifications, while meaningful exposure also depends on stability through storage and use. Heat, moisture, oxygen, light, capsule materials, and time can matter for sensitive compounds. A large front-label number does not resolve those questions.

Ask whether the assay is performed at release, whether shelf-life testing exists, and which storage conditions were used. A certificate that confirms identity without reporting assay cannot establish quantity. An assay for a raw material before blending also does not automatically prove the amount remaining in the finished capsules at the end of shelf life.

This is another reason not to rank products by a blend total. The visible number may combine several stable and less-stable materials, while the precursor's individual amount and retained potency remain unknown.

Ask Granver for the individual NMNH amount and shelf-life testing if those details are needed. The 220 mg figure describes the full four-ingredient Rejuvenation Complex.

Additional background on evidence quality appears in the NAD+ and cellular energy guide.

FAQs

Can I divide a proprietary blend by its ingredient count?+

No. Ingredients are not assumed to have equal weights. Division creates an amount the label does not disclose.

Does NAD+ Supreme contain NR or NMN?+

The current label data lists proprietary NMNH in the Rejuvenation Complex. It does not list NR or NMN.

How much NMNH is in NAD+ Supreme?+

The individual amount is not disclosed. The 220 mg figure is the total for NMNH plus L-ergothioneine, ginseng, and grape extract ingredients.

Is a single-ingredient precursor always better than a blend?+

No. It is usually easier to match when the individual amount is disclosed, but quality, stability, safety, and clinical evidence still require evaluation.

Your next step

Compare the current NAD+ Supreme label with any cited study one field at a time. Keep the NMNH amount marked unknown unless a current finished-product specification provides it.

Educational information only. Granver products are dietary supplements and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. This article does not replace individualized medical care.

This article is for educational wellness content only and is not medical advice. For pregnancy, breastfeeding, prescription medication use, diagnosed conditions, or urgent symptoms, consult a qualified healthcare professional.