Olive Leaf Extract and Oleuropein: How to Read the Label and the Research
By Granver Science Editorial TeamOctober 22, 20267 min read
Olive leaf extract weight and oleuropein standardization answer different questions. Use this guide to calculate a disclosed amount without turning it into a clinical promise.
Milligrams of olive leaf extract and a percentage of oleuropein are not the same label fact. Extract weight describes the amount of the whole extract. A standardization percentage describes how much of that extract is represented by a named constituent under the supplier's specification. If both are disclosed, a simple multiplication can estimate the labeled constituent amount. If either is missing, the amount cannot be reconstructed responsibly.
Ultra Lung Defense lists olive leaf extract inside a 300 mg Proprietary Immune Complex with FenuMat vitamin C and ElderCraft elderberry. The current Supplement Facts data does not state the individual olive leaf amount or an oleuropein percentage. Therefore, 300 mg is the combined weight of three ingredients, not the olive leaf dose and not the oleuropein dose.
Four label numbers that answer different questions
| Label field | What it tells you | What it does not tell you |
|---|---|---|
| Extract amount, such as 500 mg | Weight of the specified extract per labeled serving | Oleuropein amount unless standardization is also given |
| Standardized to 20% oleuropein | Target proportion of oleuropein in that extract | Total extract weight or clinical effect |
| Extract ratio, such as 10:1 | A manufacturing relationship between starting plant material and extract | Oleuropein concentration, absorption, or equivalence to another 10:1 extract |
| Proprietary blend total | Combined weight of all ingredients in the blend | Individual ingredient amounts unless separately disclosed |
The FDA's Supplement Facts labeling guide explains that dietary ingredients and quantities belong in the panel and describes how proprietary blends are presented. Reading the panel is more reliable than using a front-label phrase such as “high strength.”
A hypothetical calculation, not a product dose
Assume a fictional label states:
- Olive leaf extract: 500 mg
- Standardized to: 20% oleuropein
The labeled oleuropein amount would be calculated as 500 mg × 0.20 = 100 mg. This arithmetic only interprets the fictional label. It does not prove that laboratory testing found exactly 100 mg in every unit, that 100 mg is appropriate for a person, or that the product matches a clinical trial.
Now assume the label instead states “olive leaf extract, 500 mg, 10:1.” The 10:1 ratio does not supply an oleuropein percentage, so the constituent amount remains unknown. Likewise, “300 mg proprietary blend” containing olive leaf plus two other ingredients cannot be divided by three. Ingredients in a blend are not assumed to be present in equal amounts.
This is the central rule for Ultra Lung Defense: do not use its 300 mg blend total in either calculation. The individual olive leaf and oleuropein quantities are not disclosed.
Why oleuropein is only one part of the material
Olive leaf contains multiple phenolic compounds, including oleuropein and hydroxytyrosol-related compounds. Research materials may be defined by one or more constituents, a manufacturing process, or a complete chromatographic profile. Two extracts carrying the same plant name can differ in extraction solvent, leaf source, harvest, storage, and standardization.
A higher percentage is therefore not automatically a better product. Increasing a percentage can change the rest of the extract, and a smaller amount of a highly standardized extract may provide a different constituent amount than a larger amount at a lower percentage. Purity, identity testing, contaminants, stability, and the research match also matter.
The Ultra Lung Defense ingredient guide provides formula context.
What a human trial actually tested
A randomized, double-blind crossover trial enrolled 46 middle-aged men with overweight. Participants received either an olive leaf polyphenol preparation providing 51.1 mg oleuropein and 9.7 mg hydroxytyrosol per day or placebo for 12 weeks, then switched to the other treatment after a six-week washout. The primary outcome concerned insulin sensitivity, not respiratory disease. Read the trial.
This paper shows why the constituent amount matters: the investigators reported the oleuropein and hydroxytyrosol exposure, population, duration, and metabolic endpoint. It does not support an antiviral claim, a respiratory treatment claim, or a conclusion about an undisclosed amount in a three-ingredient proprietary blend.
A 2025 multicenter randomized trial studied a different olive leaf preparation in 621 people already being treated for hypertension for 12 weeks. It reported changes in ambulatory blood-pressure outcomes. Read the study. That trial belongs to a medical blood-pressure context and should not be converted into a general product promise. People using blood-pressure medicine should discuss olive leaf supplements with a clinician rather than treating this evidence as self-dosing guidance.
The two trials also cannot be merged into one expected result. Their formulations, participants, outcomes, and clinical settings differ. Neither is a finished-product trial of Ultra Lung Defense.
How to match a label to a paper
Use seven fields:
- Botanical identity: confirm Olea europaea leaf, not olive oil or olive fruit.
- Extract preparation: record solvent, ratio, branded material, and processing when available.
- Extract amount: capture milligrams per serving and servings per day.
- Constituent specification: record oleuropein or other phenolic standardization and actual test method if provided.
- Population: note health status, age, sex distribution, and medication context.
- Protocol: match daily amount, duration, comparator, and timing.
- Endpoint: distinguish a biomarker from symptoms, disease treatment, or long-term outcomes.
If a product misses the first four fields, mark the comparison as incomplete. Supplier literature cannot fill a finished-product label gap. Granver's claims-review framework explains why a named ingredient study does not automatically become evidence for a multi-ingredient formula.
Olive leaf is not olive oil
Olive oil is produced from olive fruit and is a food rich in fatty acids and variable minor compounds. Olive leaf extract is made from leaves and is usually concentrated and characterized differently. Research on extra-virgin olive oil, Mediterranean eating patterns, or isolated oleuropein cannot be cited as though it tested the same intervention.
The botanical part should appear on a careful label. “Olea europaea leaf extract” provides more identity information than “olive complex.” Even then, amount and standardization are still required for a research match.
Reading Ultra Lung Defense's ingredient panel
The current Supplement Facts data shows a two-capsule serving and 30 servings per container. Olive leaf extract appears in a 300 mg Proprietary Immune Complex with two other named ingredients. Directions say to take two capsules once daily after a meal.
This tells you the serving and blend total. It does not establish an individual olive leaf amount, oleuropein content, extract ratio, or a human outcome. Review the current Ultra Lung Defense page and request a finished-product specification if those details are needed.
The broader respiratory support supplement guide explains why nutritional support should remain separate from medical evaluation. New or worsening shortness of breath, wheezing, chest pain, fever, or low oxygen readings need appropriate medical care rather than a supplement experiment.
Questions a specification should answer
When a label does not disclose enough detail, ask for a current finished-product specification rather than relying on a generic supplier page. A useful document should identify the botanical part, extraction solvent or process, extract ratio when used, oleuropein specification, analytical method, microbial and contaminant limits, and stability through the stated shelf life. A lot-specific certificate of analysis can then show whether a tested batch met those specifications.
Keep three documents separate. The consumer label states what is declared per serving. A raw-material specification describes an ingredient before it enters the formula. A finished-product certificate concerns the actual batch after manufacturing. None should silently substitute for another. These documents can help answer ingredient and amount questions; they do not demonstrate a health outcome.
FAQs
Is olive leaf extract the same as olive oil?
No. They come from different plant parts and have different compositions and research contexts. A study of olive oil or a Mediterranean diet does not establish the effect of a leaf extract, and a leaf-extract trial does not describe ordinary olive-oil intake.
Is a higher oleuropein percentage always better?
No. Percentage must be interpreted with extract amount, identity, testing, stability, and the evidence for that exact preparation. A high percentage does not establish greater absorption, safety, or clinical benefit.
Can I calculate oleuropein when only an extract ratio is shown?
No. An extract ratio and a constituent percentage are different specifications. Without an oleuropein percentage or measured amount, the labeled constituent dose remains unknown.
How much olive leaf and oleuropein are in Ultra Lung Defense?
The current data does not disclose either amount. Olive leaf is one of three ingredients inside a 300 mg proprietary blend. Do not divide the blend equally or treat its total as the olive leaf dose.
Your next step
Check Ultra Lung Defense's current label information and record the disclosed serving, blend, and ingredient fields. Leave the olive leaf and oleuropein amounts marked unknown unless a current finished-product specification supplies them.
Educational information only. Granver products are dietary supplements and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. This article does not replace individualized medical care.